If you have ideas, feedback, or translations to offer, please contact us!
| English | Mongolian | Meaning | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Academic library | A library that is an integral part of a college, university, or other institution of post-secondary education, administered to meet the curriculum and research needs of its students, faculty, and staff. | OCLC glossary | |
| ALA | Америкийн номын сангийн холбоо | American Library Association. The oldest and largest library association in the world. | OCLC glossary |
| Archives | Архив | Historical records, regardless of format, which are maintained and preserved because of their permanent legal, fiscal, regulatory, evidential, informational, or historical value. Materials that are archived are usually permanently retained | OCLC glossary |
| Archival material | Records in any format retained for their continuing value—also, in early use, as distinguished from manuscripts | SAA Dictionary | |
| Author | Зохиогч | The person or corporate entity responsible for producing a written work. | ODLIS |
| Authority control | The procedures by which consistency of form is maintained in the headings (names, uniform titles, series titles, and subjects) used in a library catalog or file of bibliographic records. | ODLIS | |
| Bibliographic record | A description of the physical or virtual format and intellectual content of a single resource (a book, video, map, etc.) encoded in a standardized format such as MARC. | OCLC glossary | |
| Boolean | A system of logic developed by the English mathematician George Boole (1815-64) that allows the user to combine words or phrases representing significant concepts when searching an online catalog or bibliographic database by keywords. | ODLIS | |
| Browse | To look through a library collection, catalog, bibliography, index, bibliographic database, or other finding tool in a casual search for items of interest, without clearly defined intentions. | ODLIS | |
| Call number | A set of letters and numbers used by a library to identify a specific copy of a resource. Usually affixed to the spine. | OCLC glossary | |
| Catalog | катологи | A comprehensive list of the books, periodicals, maps, and other materials in a given collection, arranged in systematic order to ease retrieval (usually alphabetically by author, title, or subject). | ODLIS |
| Cataloging | каталогт оруулах | The process of creating entries for a catalog, including creating the bibliographic record, subject analysis, assigning of classification notation, and physically preparing the item for the shelf. | ODLIS |
| Classification | A logical system for the arrangement of knowledge. | OCLC glossary | |
| Classification system | |||
| Collection development | The process of planning and building a useful and balanced collection of library materials. | ODLIS | |
| Corporate name | |||
| Cutter number | |||
| Database | |||
| Digital archive | |||
| Field | In a bibliographic, authority, or holdings record, a tag in which the same kind of information is consistently entered. For example, bibliographic tag 245 is a field that consistently contains title information. | OCLC glossary | |
| Full text | The complete contents of a text-based resource, as opposed to an abstract or bibliographic record. | OCLC glossary | |
| Holdings | |||
| Identifier | A term, number, or name used to refer to a library resource, library metadata description, or an entry within an ontology. | OCLC glossary | |
| ILL | Interlibrary loan. When a library resource is unavailable in or not owned by the library, a patron may request that it be borrowed from another library. | OCLC glossary | |
| Index | |||
| Initial article | |||
| Institution | |||
| ISBN | International Standard Book Number: a 13-digit number that uniquely identifies books and book-like products published internationally. | ISBN.org | |
| Issue | |||
| Journal | |||
| Keyword index | |||
| Keyword search | |||
| Label | |||
| Local system | |||
| Location | |||
| Manuscript | |||
| MARC (Machine-Readable Cataloging) | |||
| MARC record | |||
| Material type | |||
| Metadata | |||
| National Library | A library designated and funded by a national government to serve the nation by maintaining a comprehensive collection of the published and unpublished literary output of the nation as a whole, including publications of the government itself. | ODLIS | |
| OPAC | Online Public Access Catalog, a database composed of bibliographic records describing a library or library system's collection. Most online catalogs are searchable by author, title, subject, and keywords and allow users to print, download, or export records. | OCLC glossary | |
| Open Access | Open access (OA) means free access to information and unrestricted use of electronic resources for everyone. | UNESCO | |
| Original cataloging | |||
| Periodical | Тогтмол хэвлэл | ||
| Publisher | |||
| Public library | A library or library system that provides unrestricted access to library resources and services free of charge to all the residents of a given community, district, or geographic region, supported wholly or in part by public funds. | ODLIS | |
| Record | |||
| Research library | A library containing a comprehensive collection of materials in a specific field, academic discipline, or group of disciplines, including primary and secondary sources, selected to meet the information needs of serious researchers. | ODLIS | |
| Schedules | |||
| School library | |||
| Search history | |||
| Serial | |||
| Series | |||
| Special library | A library established and funded by a commercial firm, private association, government agency, nonprofit organization, or special interest group to meet the information needs of its employees, members, or staff in accordance with the organization's mission and goals. | ODLIS | |
| Subject | |||
| Subject headings | |||
| Tag | |||
| Title | Гарчиг | ||
| Work | A distinct intellectual or artistic creation (i.e., the intellectual or artistic content). | IFLA Value Vocabularies | |
| WorldCat.org |
Harrod's Librarians' Glossary and Reference Book by 
This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science by This link opens in a new window