LibGuides: Introduction to Mongolian Studies: Articles

Where to Search

JSTOR is a vast digital repository of journals, primary sources, books and scholarly content. It provides researchers access to full-text copies of articles in over 700 academic journals spanning from the 17th century to the present day.

The ACMS library provides the only public access to JSTOR in Mongolia. We are also pleased to provide remote JSTOR Access to all ACMS Members.

The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) in an independent index which contains almost 17,500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are accepted for indexing.

CrossAsia is an internet portal offering access to printed and electronic resources concerning Asian studies, including meta-search feature, Online Guide East Asia (OGEA), bibliographic records from hundred of journals.

Unpaywall

Unpaywall is run by OurResearch, a nonprofit dedicated to making scholarship more accessible to everyone. Unpaywall harvests Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and make it easy to find, track, and use. The Unpaywall browser extension helps researchers find freely-available full text articles that have been legally uploaded by authors, with permission from publishers.

Stay Current

Set up Google Scholar Alerts to find out when Google finds a new academic article in your area. Tip: Use very specific terms, as Google will find a lot!

Helpful Journals

Unless otherwise noted, journal access is provided for ACMS members through JSTOR.

Mongolia and Central Asia Studies

Mongolian Studies
An annual journal – replacing the Mongolia Society Bulletin-that began publication in 1974. It features scholarly research articles, book reviews, and embraces cross-Asian and multi-disciplinary approaches to Mongolia, past and present.
Central Asiatic Journal
The Central Asiatic Journal has been published since 1955, focusing on the linguistic, cultural and historical heritage of Central Asia and historically contingent regions.
Inner Asia
Published bi-annually for the Mongolia and Inner Asia Studies Unit (MIASU) at the University of Cambridge, Inner Asia is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal with emphasis on the social sciences, humanities and cultural studies.
Studies in Inner Asian History and Culture
Published by Association for the Study of Inner Asian History and Culture

Asian Studies

Asian Ethnology
Asian Ethnology is dedicated to the promotion of scholarly research on the peoples and cultures of Asia. It began in China as Folklore Studies in 1942 and later moved to Japan where its name was changed to Asian Folklore Studies. It is edited and published at Nanzan University in Nagoya, Japan, with the cooperation of Boston University.
Asian Perspective
Asian Perspective applies an Asian lens to world and comparative politics. With its vital contemporary focus, it probes the regional, international, and transnational issues that affect Asia today. Asian Perspective is peer-reviewed and publishes quarterly. It is produced with the Institute for Far Eastern Studies at Kyungnam University. Now in its fourth decade, the journal welcomes interdisciplinary research and is committed to promoting a lively exchange of ideas between scholars and policymakers.
Asian Perspectives
Asian Perspectives: The Journal of Archaeology for Asia and the Pacific is the leading peer-reviewed archaeological journal devoted to the prehistory of Asia and the Pacific region. In addition to archaeology, it features articles and book reviews on ethnoarchaeology, palaeoanthropology, physical anthropology,and ethnography of interest and use to the prehistorian.
Asian Survey
Asian Survey provides a comprehensive retrospective of contemporary international relations within South, Southeast, and East Asian nations. As the Asian community’s matrix of activities becomes increasingly complex, it is essential to have a sourcebook for sound analysis of current events, governmental policies, socio-economic development, and financial institutions.
The Journal of Asian Studies
For 56 years, The Journal of Asian Studies has been recognized as the most authoritative and prestigious publication in the field of Asian Studies.
Modern Asian Studies
Modern Asian Studies promotes an understanding of contemporary Asia and its rich inheritance. Covering South Asia, South-East Asia, China, and Japan, this quarterly journal publishes original research articles concerned with the history, geography, politics, sociology, literature, economics, social anthropology and culture of the area.