Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACMS Library Home: Home

Questions? Comments? Suggestions? Ideas?

We'd love to hear from you!

Feedback Form

ACMS Logo

Welcome to the

ACMS Library

Here you will find information about the American Center for Mongolia Studies Library in Ulaanbaatar, the online library catalog, access online databases and digital archives, and curated research guides on a variety of topics related to the study of Mongolia.

Mongolian Studies

This guide provides an introduction to Mongolian Studies including popular topics, journals, suggested books, and background information.

Mongolian Studies

Research Help

This guide provides an overview of the research process, selected academic resources, sources of information, citation managers, and more

Learn More

Research Guides

Research Guides are curated research starters and include relevant links to subject databases, journals, books, and background information. 

Browse Guides

Book Highlights

Reins of Liberation

The author's purpose in writing this book is to use the Mongolian question to illuminate much larger issues of twentieth-century Asian history: how war, revolution, and great-power rivalries induced or restrained the formation of nationhood and territoriality.

Eat the Buddha

Award-winning journalist Barbara Demick explores one of the most hidden corners of the world. She tells the story of a Tibetan town perched eleven thousand feet above sea level that is one of the most difficult places in all of China for foreigners to visit.

Danzanravjaa: A Song Arising from Contemplation. Selected Poems

The fifth Noyon Hutagt, Danzanravjaa (1803-1856) is arguably Mongolia’s most influential Buddhist poet. A fervent nationalist, born during a time of political upheaval, his powerful and determined personality, melded with his deep understanding of Buddhist practice, is reflected in his lyrical and subversive style.

The Religions of Mongolia

In this study Walther Heissig focuses on the existence in Mongolia of religious forms which have more ancient roots even than Buddhism. Professor Heissig is mainly concerned in the present book with those beliefs and concepts which belong to the non-Buddhist folk religion of the Mongols.

The Phonology of Mongolian

This book provides the first comprehensive description of the phonology and phonetics of Standard Mongolian, known as the Halh (Khalkha) dialect and spoken in Ulaanbaatar, the capital of the Republic of Mongolia. It is also the first account in any language of the historical phonology of the entire Mongolian group of languages. The synchronic phonology is based on data collected by the authors and their own phonological analyses.

The Urban Life of the Qing Dynasty

From 1840 onwards, the traditional system of a feudal society suffered constant failure and humiliation in face of bigger, stronger powers. This book provides a clear account of the scale, pattern, and function of China's cities in the Qing Dynasty and the enormous role these cities played in China's social development to the present day.

Herdsman to Statesman: The Autobiography of Jamsrangiin Sambuu of Mongolia

This compelling autobiography encapsulates the profound changes that transformed the underdeveloped world in the twentieth century. Jamsrangiin Sambuu, born in 1895 to a herder family in a remote region of Mongolia, rose to become ambassador and eventually president of a haltingly industrialized and urbanized Communist country.

The Early Mongols Language, Culture and History

Igor de Rachewiltz was one of the world's preeminent historians and philologists specializing in the medieval history of the Mongols. This collection draws together his top colleagues who contribute seminal essays in the field  to celebrate his 80th birthday.

Poisoned Arrows: The Stalin-Choibalsan Mongolian Massacres, 1921-1941

Poisoned Arrows: The Stalin-Choibalsan Mongolian Massacres, 1921-1941 reveals to an English speaking readership for the first time the truth about the massacres conducted between 1921-1941 by the Stalinist KGB and its puppet Mongolian counterpart in converting the historic home of Genghis Khan into the world's second communist state and keeping it isolated from the world under Soviet domination for seventy years.

The Mongolic Languages

For general linguistic theory, the Mongolic languages offer interesting insights to problems of areal typology and structural change. An understanding of the Mongolic language family is also a prerequisite for the study of Mongolian and Central Eurasian history and culture. This volume is the first comprehensive treatment of the Mongolic languages in English, written by an international team of specialists.

The Last Disco in Outer Mongolia

When Nick Middleton decided to visit Outer Mongolia, it took him five years to get a visa. And when he finally reached Ulan Bator - with no guide book, no map and no Mongolian - he found more than a few surprises.

Everyday Life in Central Asia

Provocative stories of Turkmen nomads, Afghan villagers, Kazakh scientists, Kyrgyz border guards, a Tajik strongman, guardians of religious shrines in Uzbekistan, and other narratives illuminate important issues of gender, religion, power, culture, and wealth. A vibrant and dynamic world of life in urban neighborhoods and small villages, at weddings and celebrations, at classroom tables, and around dinner tables emerges from this introduction to a geopolitically strategic and culturally fascinating region.

Kingship and Ideology in the Islamic and Mongol Worlds

What were the attitudes to diplomacy and kingship in the medieval Islamic world? Anne Broadbridge examines struggles over ideology in the Middle East and Central Asia from 1260 to 1405. She explores two very different ideological worlds: the Islamic world of the Mamluk Sultans of Egypt and Syria, and the Mongol world inhabited by the Golden Horde in Central Asia, the Ilkhanids in Iran and Anatolia, the Ilkhanids' successors, and Temür.

The Mongols in Iran

This book explores the administration of Iran under Mongol rule through taxation and monetary policy. A consistent development is evident only from abundant numismatic material, from the conquest of Samarqand by Chingiz Khan to the reign of the penultimate ruler, Uljaytu. In many cases, the individuals responsible for initiating and conducting the policies can be identified from the histories or remarks of the mint master. The structure of the empire is clearly demarcated by mint production, coin styles and type of metal.

Making Disasters

Although extreme winter events have always threatened herders on the Central Asian steppe, the frequency and severity of these disasters have increased since Mongolia's transition from a socialist Soviet satellite state to a free-market economy. This book describes the significant challenges caused by the retreat of the state from the rural economy and its consequences not only for rural herders but for the country as a whole.

The Impact of Mining Lifecycles in Mongolia and Kyrgyzstan: Political, Social, Environmental and Cultural Contexts

This volume investigates how mining affects societies and communities in Mongolia and Kyrgyzstan. As ex-Soviet states, Mongolia and Kyrgyzstan share history, culture and transitions to democracy. Most importantly, both are mineral-rich countries on China’s frontier and epi-centres of resource extraction. This volume examines challenges communities in these countries encounter on the long journey through resource exploration, extraction and mine closure.

A Mongolian Living Buddha

The Khutughtus were highly ranked in the Lama Buddhist hierarchy. Considered equal to or higher than secular princes, they wielded great influence in both ecclesiastical and secular life in Inner Mongolia until the end of World War II. The career of the Kanjurwa Khughtu (1914-1980) covers an especially important period in Inner Mongolia. This unique work grew out of a two-year series of Mongolian-language interviews with the Kanjurwa, taped at his monastic residence.

Beijing's Power and China's Borders

China shares borders with 20 other countries. Each of these neighbors has its own national interests, and in some cases, these include territorial and maritime jurisdictional claims in places that China also claims. Most of these 20 countries have had a history of border conflicts with China; some of them never amicably settled. This book brings together some of the foremost historians, geographers, political scientists, and legal scholars on modern Asia to examine each of China's twenty land or sea borders.

A History of Land Use in Mongolia

An illustrated history of the pastoral nomadic way of life in Mongolia, this book examines the many challenges that Mongolian herders continue to face in the struggle over natural resources in the post-socialist free market era.

Mongolia Today

This is a wide-ranging collection of essays written by experts in the field. The variety of topics provide an interdisciplinary approach to the study of contemporary Mongolia. Topics include the impact of industrialization in Mongolia, environmental policies of the nation, the status of modern biotechnology in Mongolia, Mongolian dairy products, traditional husbandry techniques practised by nomadic people, a description of medicinal plants and their uses in Mongolian traditional medicine, descriptions of unique Mongolian birds, fishes and microbiota, discussion of the fascinating flora and fauna of the Gobi region, and a conservation case-study of the endangered Gobi bear.

Nomadic Art of the Eastern Eurasian Steppes

This book accompanies an exhibition held at he Metropolitan Museum of Art from 2002-2003 of these, and other artifacts, dating largely from the first millennium BC. Four short essays discuss the land and people, the types of artifacts within the collection and the legacy of the people of the Eurasian steppes.

Icons by Roundicons via FlatIcon.