Maps & Geospatial Data: History & Culture

The David Rumsey Map Collection was founded in 1985 and went online in 1999 at davidrumsey.com. The collection includes over 200,000 rare 16th through 21st century maps of the entire World and parts of the Universe. 115,000 maps and related items are available online and 60,000 of those have been georeferenced.

The Library of Congress has custody of the largest and most comprehensive cartographic collection in the world.

The project is maintained by volunteers and the team of Klokan Technologies GmbH, Switzerland. Contributing institutions include USGS Historical Topographic Maps, New York Public Library, Map Division, British Library, Map Library, Harvard Library, Harvard Map Collection and more.

The Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL) Map Collection at the University of Texas Austin holds more than 350,000 items representing all areas of the world. Most of the maps in the collection date from 1900 to the present. Since 1995, the PCL Map Collection has digitized 70,000 maps.

The American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection contains over 14000 maps, ranging from early maps of Asia to historical maps of Wisconsin and Milwaukee, and other American cities, states, and national parks. The digital collection is under continuing development.

Online exhibit by Lhamsuren Munkh-Erdene at Stanford University featuring a collection of khoshun maps of Outer Mongolia made during the Qing Dynasty.

A group of international researchers working in Mongolia in the field of Buddhist and cultural preservation collaborated with the Arts Council of Mongolia (ACM) to conduct this project between 2005 and 2007. The goal was to create a database of the location and condition of Buddhist temple and monastery sites in Mongolia at the beginning of 20th century that could be found in the main survey period of summer of 2007.

Mongol Music Archive is dedicated to capturing everyday uses of traditional music in the daily lives of Mongolian herders. As a general shift from nomadic to urban lifestyles occurs across Mongolia, it is important to capture these moments and performances. This website and all its contents have been produced by Dimitri Staszewski with support from a Fulbright-mtvU Fellowship and assistance from Røde Microphones. Staszewski was awarded a Certificate of Honor by the Mongolian Embassy in San Francisco for “Introducing Mongolian culture through professional sound recordings of traditional music and songs of Mongolian nomads to the American public.”

Түүх, соёл, археологийн өв орон зайн суурь өгөгдлийн сан нь түүх, соёлын дурсгалт газартай холбоотой бүх элементүүд болох үл хөдлөх дурсгалын газар зүйн байршил, түүхэн цаг үе, төрөл зүйлийн ангилал, хамрах хүрээ, хамгаалалт, байгалийн болон хүний хүчин зүйлийн нөлөөлөл, малтлага, судалгаа, сэргээн засварлах, тэдгээрийн мэдээллийг агуулна.

Digital map by the Buddhist Digital Resource Center (BDRC) features locations and names of over 1100 Buddhist monasteries located in Mongolia.

Газар зүйн нэрийн толь, Газар зүйн нэрийн зураг, Газар зүйн хуучин нэрийг тодотгох, Уламжлалт нэрийг сэргээх хүсэлт тавих, Газар зүйн нэрийн зөвлөл (Газар зохион байгуулалт, геодези, зураг зүйн газар).

Excerpt from The Age of Dinosaurs in Russia and Mongolia, edited by Michael J. Benton, Mikhail A. Shishkin, David M. Unwin, Evgenii N. Kurochkin (Cambridge University Press, 2000).

Газар зүйн нэрийн өгөгдлийн сан нь эх газар, далай, тэнгис, булан, тохой, арал, хойг, уул, нуруу, хээр, тал, говь, цөл, мөрөн, гол, нуур зэрэг физик газар зүйн объект, хүний үйл ажиллагаагаар бий болсон далан, усан сан, суваг, шуудуу, улс, засаг захиргаа, нутаг дэвсгэрийн нэгж, тэдгээрийн доторх хөдөө аж ахуй, үйлдвэр, тээвэр, холбоо зэрэг бусад объектын нэрс түүний дагалдах бүх элементүүд, тэдгээрийн мэдээллийг агуулна.